Sunday, January 25, 2009

Sunday's Seven Wonders - Great Pyramid of Giza

I've recently become interested in learning about the wonders of the world. During my research I have learned there are the 7 wonders of the ancient world, 7 wonders of the medieval world, 7 wonders of the modern world, the new 7 wonders of the world, 7 wonders of the natural world, 7 wonders of the underwater world, and 7 wonders of the industrial world.

In order to do each of these wonders justice, I will be highlighting a different wonder here every Sunday. I will begin with the 7 wonders of the ancient world.

Seven Wonders of the Ancient World - #1 the Great Pyramid of Giza

(Photo credit: Nina Aldin Thune)

The Great Pyramid of Giza, also called Khufu's Pyramid or the Pyramid of Khufu, and Pyramid of Cheops, is the oldest and largest of the three pyramids in the Giza Necropolis bordering what is now Cairo, Egypt, and is the only remaining member of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. It is believed the pyramid was built as a tomb for Fourth dynasty Egyptian pharaoh Khufu and constructed over a 14 to 20 year period concluding around 2560 BC.

The Great Pyramid consists of more than 2.3 million limestone blocks. The Egyptians shipped the limestone blocks from quarries all along the Nile River. The stone was cut by hammering wedges into the stone. Then the wedges were soaked with water. The wedges expanded, causing the rock to crack. Once they were cut, they were carried by boat either up or down the Nile River to the pyramid.

Although succeeding pyramids were smaller, pyramid building continued until the end of the Middle Kingdom (2040 BC and 1640 BC.). However, the pyramids were robbed by the New Kingdom, when the construction of royal tombs in a desert valley, now known as the Valley of the Kings, began. The Great Pyramid itself was reportedly opened and emptied by the Middle Kingdom.

1 comment:

Julia Smith said...

Wonderful new series, Bobbi - I really enjoyed this.